Day 1: What’s wrong with my world?

Maybe I’m writing just for myself, or maybe you’ll understand where I’m coming from and you’ll want to join me on this journey. Either way, this is a 365-day social experiment to see if there’s such a thing as creating connections one step at a time. I don’t know about you, but for quite some time, I’ve been tired of being tired. I work long, chaotic hours. I have a 40-minute commute, one-way, and by the time I get home, it’s time to cook dinner and vegetate for an hour or two before going to sleep, and then I start all over when the sun arises the next morning. I can go six months without seeing my neighbors. My friends become the characters in my favorite television shows, and even among my own family, it’s difficult to have a conversation without a cell phone interrupting the gaze amongst us. I long for deeper connection.

In today’s techno-world, connections seem harder to come by. Everyone seems just as busy as I am, and finding time to have real conversations feels more than we want to do on some days. And if you’re a people-watcher like I am, even when you see a group of people out and about, often, their noses are glued to their cell phones. And isn’t it ironic that this connection conversation is happening on a blog?

About ten years ago, a dear friend of mine (who is twenty years my junior and a definite kindred spirit) and I began a conversation about developing friendships. A few weeks into our process, she told me she was moving away from middle Tennessee and back home to Olympia, Washington. So I put my journal away, and it lay dormant until just recently. Digging it out, I found the discussion we began is even more relevant a decade later.

Do you long for connection like me? Then, join me on this journey. I’ll offer a simple step each day. Let’s see where it takes us. I hope you’ll share your progress with me, and we can encourage one another. There are kindreds amongst us. We just have to look up from our digi-world and reach out to others who are looking for their kindreds, too.

DAY 1 HOMEWORK: Find five quiet minutes in your day to list out those friends over your lifetime who you would consider a kindred spirit. (Kindred spirit has many different connotations, so let’s just say for now: list those people you really connect[ed] with.)

6 thoughts on “Day 1: What’s wrong with my world?

  1. I think this is great! I to over the last few years see how hustle and bustle of life leaves us longing for something more, but are to drained to do anything. I think the enemy wants us to be satisfied with the mundane routine we call life and I to have tried to find ways to break the cycle…to reach outside my bubble and be fulfilled by connecting with others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

