Day 24: It’s just stuff

There’s a push today is to simplify. People are moving to tiny houses so they can spend more time doing the things they love to do. That’s not for everyone, but I love the idea of not having to take care of a lot of “stuff” in order to have more time to enjoy life.

Several of my kindreds are moving right now, and they’re downsizing their “stuff.” Why save all those boxes full of who-knows-what for someday? I cheer them along on their de-cluttering processes because there’s nothing better than going through a closet or a drawer and donating unused things to others who could really use them.

Of course, I’m saying this just a few weeks before Black Friday, when people stop sleeping in order to elbow their ways towards cheaply-priced stuff to replace last year’s not-so-cool-anymore stuff. I know it’s awesome to save money on gifts for others, but what if we thought about donating our time to someone instead. It’d make for a cool time connecting and we’d save ourselves from a few bruises on Black Friday!

I find myself moving more and more toward this idea of a simplified life: keeping what you truly love and finding a way to donate the rest. I’m working my way there so I can spend time doing what I love with those I love. Sounds ideal, doesn’t it?

DAY 24 HOMEWORK: OK. I’m not going to ask you to give up Black Friday, if that’s what you love. However, pick up just one box and see what you can donate to simplify your life a bit more today.

Leave a Reply

