Day 47: Living Giving

It’s more blessed to give than to receive. I believe that; I love giving to others. Tonight, my daughter-in-love and I went to a few stores to finish our Angel Tree shopping and found exactly the things we needed from the wish list. My daughter-in-love was shopping for a young boy, and I was shopping for a tweenage girl. It makes me so happy to help local children in need of a brighter Christmas. And I love that we’re doing this as a family.

At work, our team has picked a few people off the Angel Tree, too. We first selected an 80-year-old man. His wish for Christmas? A screwdriver set. He needed a coat too. Wow! We are so spoiled. Something about his wish for a screwdriver set touched my heart, and I hope that when he receives the simple gifts we provide, that he feels the love that goes into it. Then, since we live not far from a military base, we found a family of 3 military kids who needed help. A group of us go in on these gifts. It brings us together as coworkers (or as a family) when we can do for others.

I hope that as you read my blog today, your thoughts don’t go to what I’m doing. I don’t share any of this to brag. This is just something I love to do, and I share it to encourage you to live out your life giving. When you can get outside yourself and give to others, you really do receive so much more than you’re giving. There’s a smile that bubbles up inside and has to come out.

This may not be the year that you can give to others. You may be on the receiving end this year. Believe me, I’ve been in that place, too. If you are receiving, you can still give your time, your ears, your compassion, and a smile. And when you can pass it forward, do it with all the gusto you can, remembering what you have received.

DAY 47 HOMEWORK: Give what you can as often as you can, and watch the smile bubble up.

Leave a Reply

