Day 62: Me time

Towards the end of the year, we often have some vacation days that we have to burn, or lose. In our house, not everyone has vacation at the same time, so without wanting to leave my family during the holidays, and not wanting to go anywhere alone, some of my vacation days ultimately get burned up as ME days. There’s nothing wrong with that. In fact, tomorrow is one such day for me, and I’m really looking forward to it.

It’s truly going to be a ME day. I’ll do things I need and want to get done. I’ll do a little shopping. I’ll read, and do my nails. You know the kind of day…with no specific agenda, but with an ability to do things I want to do. A day to drink my favorite tea. A day to stay in my pjs a bit longer. A day to shut everything out, and just listen to the breeze.

It’s been a bit of a crazy year and I’ve not had time to take many ME days, but I will truly get a chance to be alone tomorrow. I’m giddy with joy. I’m not even sure I want to go to bed.

Taking time for self-care is important, and honestly, I need to get better at it. I saw a meme that said, today is a day to be Me-sponsible…that’s my tomorrow. I’ll follow up tomorrow night about how successful the self-care day is.

DAY 62 HOMEWORK: Do something for yourself. It could be as simple as a hot bath. Or, a few extra minutes to savor your favorite cup of tea. It could be a walk outside, to breathe in fresh air. Whatever is that thing that refreshes you, take a few minutes to do that for yourself. You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

