Day 63: Glorious day!

As a follow up to yesterday, I was ME-sponsible today, and I enjoyed it tremendously. As much as I’ve been discussing the idea of connecting with others, today, I connected with myself. I took care of myself, I took care of a few things in my house, and I took care of my shopping list. I did what I wanted, when I wanted, and saw no one I knew today, except for a few hours at the end of the day. It allowed me to recharge, and I feel like my battery is full!

Tomorrow, my daughter-in-love and I are going to see The Nutcracker by ourselves. It’s another day to recharge, and have some girl time. By the end of this weekend, I’m going to feel like another person.

Women have a tendency to give of themselves with no end, to their own detriment. They will give to their families, to work, to their friends, and often to strangers in need. That’s just the nurturing nature. But this can wear a person down after a while.

If you don’t take time for self-care, it can lead to a whole host of problems. And, while it’s so important to connect with others, it’s equally important to withdraw and refuel so that you can go out again and connect with others. For me, I have to plan self-care, or else it rarely happens, but I can tell you after a day like today, it’s incredibly necessary for a balanced life.

DAY 63 HOMEWORK: Schedule yourself a day to recharge. Everyone recharges in a different way, so make a plan that will refill your battery. Don’t wait until it’s something grand. Do it now, and be sure to keep that commitment with yourself.

 

Leave a Reply

