Day 75: The odds were against me

I love traveling, but I also love stay-cations, especially at the end of the year. Sleeping in, running errands, and catching up on projects are some of my favorite stay-cation activities, and allow me to renew before starting the new year. Today was a perfect example of a favorite stay-cation day.

I slept in. Then, I jumped into grungy clothes (an oversized sweatshirt and my paint jeans), and with a bad hair day, I ran errands. I crossed a few things off my to-do project list. By late afternoon, I was exhausted. I had a migraine coming on, so we stopped by a restaurant to grab a bite to eat. With no people in the restaurant, the service should have been excellent, but it was awful. I was still in my grungy clothes, hungry, waiting for the waiter, and getting grumpier by the minute. But the food did help.

When we left the restaurant, it was starting to get cold…a shock to our systems since it’s been way above normal the past few weeks, so we stopped by the house to get something warmer on before running to the grocery store. I grabbed a cap I had knitted and threw it on. It didn’t match, and I looked like a bum, but I didn’t think I would be long, so I owned the look and ran out the door. I giggled at myself all the way to the store.

We made it all the way through the grocery store, and as I was rounding the last corner headed for the cash registers, I ran into our neighbor. Ha! My first reaction was to turn around and pretend I didn’t see her. I looked at my worst, but then, I decided to connect. We laughed at our plans to be asleep by 10 pm on New Year’s Eve. The connection was short, but it was so worth it. People are so much more important than my need to look chic, and it didn’t kill me. Growth! I’ll take it.

DAY 75 HOMEWORK: So, know that any time you wear your grungiest clothes, your percentage of meeting someone you know goes up exponentially. If it happens, just own it and make the connection.

 

Leave a Reply

