Day 80: No words = no blog

When I started this journey, I challenged myself to write a little bit every day for a year. It’s starting to change me: the way I perceive the world, the way I think about myself and others, the way I choose to behave based on the things I’m thinking and writing about.

I’m not sure I can do it tonight. We have faced deep sadness in the past with the loss of our own family members; we have shared in the dark sadness of dear friends before. And I’ve recently shared in the sadness of a coworker, at the loss of his son. I know that I know that I know that our days are numbered; that each day is written down before they even begin. We will each live as many days as is planned for us, and then, for whatever reason, that’s it on this earth. We sometimes just want a reason, but all we can do is ask “why.”

Today, I heard of the loss of a church family’s twin sons, 7 years old, on New Year’s Eve. They were all sitting at a stoplight. Then, in some freak accident, an elderly woman barreled into them going 90 miles an hour.

We had prayed together about her deep desires for a family. Just after that, we were moving into a new ministry at our current church, and they had a job out east, but I remembered hearing with such joy when she got pregnant, and then another friend shared the excitement when they had found out it was twins.

I don’t have words with all these thoughts swirling in my head. I’m hurting so much for them.

The father is still in critical condition so please keep this family in your prayers. The family of the elderly woman also needs your prayers. I don’t know anything about them, but they lost her as well.

DAY 80 HOMEWORK: I’ve given you this homework before, but I give it again. Hug those close to you a little tighter tonight. For those farther away, let them know how much you love them. We’ve got to take advantage of every day we’re given.

Leave a Reply

