Day 107: If at first…

I’ve failed. But, remember, we give ourselves permission to be imperfect, and still move forward!

On Day 77, I challenged myself to opening my home once a month to neighbors, and here we are on the last day of January, and I didn’t follow through.

I said that day: “…if I don’t plan it, it’s not going to happen. I’ll keep telling myself, “Next week.” But like tomorrow, next week never comes.” And that’s exactly what happened in January. Stuff got in the way, work got crazy, and every time I thought to plan a night, something was inconvenient. And I’m not running kids to activities, or involved in lots of different groups during the week. Imagine how tough it gets for those with young kids! Or worse yet: for those caring for both young kids and aging parents!

It’s definitely not easy. It’s the way life works, and what often gets in the way of connecting. We can have the best intentions, but as they say, “The road to hell is paved with good intentions.” We have to be very intentional in these busy days in order to make connections. We can’t just wish it. It will rarely happen that way.

I’m going to repeat my instructions from Day 77, mostly because I need a kick in the backside myself:

“What it doesn’t have to be is perfect. What it doesn’t have to be is fancy. It just needs to be an invitation. And maybe someone will come over. Maybe someone needs to make a connection. Maybe nothing will come of it. But maybe something will. And I won’t wait for someone else to extend the next invitation. This is my journey. These connections are where I’m starting. Maybe Mr. Rogers had a good thing going.”

DAY 107 HOMEWORK: If you feel brave, join in on my challenge. Open up your home one night a month. If you don’t have a neighborhood Facebook group, start one. Or maybe invite a group from your church, or your workplace, or a sports activity…find a place where you can start being the connector, and let’s see what happens.

I’ll follow up on this one again at the end of February!

Leave a Reply

