Day 109: To Dr. Phillips

I had a professor in college and everyone loved her. She was scrappy in an adorable way, and wise, and a true inspiration. She once told us that she finished high school when she was 25, never having the opportunity to do it when all the others her age could. She got a bachelor’s degree ten years later, a master’s at 45, and finally, by the time she was 55, she received her Ph.D.

She gave me a love for Anton Chekhov and Mark Twain, and encouraged me on those difficult days of growing into a form of adulthood. She had an infectious laugh, and even as I’m writing this, the memory of this beloved professor brings a smile to my face and warm stirrings in my heart. I always think of her when someone says they can’t do something, and I use her an example that it’s never too late to do anything you want to do.

A friend posted a quote from F. Scott Fitzgerald today:

For what it’s worth: It’s never too late to be whoever you want to be. I hope you live a life you’re proud of, and if you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start over. 

Today is the day to be who you want to be. Today is the day to start fresh. And if you need to start fresh again tomorrow, do it! It’s never too late. I don’t know what happened to Dr. Phillips. She might be near 95 today, and she was scrappy enough to still be going strong. But even if she’s already with Jesus, I know she’d be proud of the influence she made in the lives of her students. I know I’m proud to have been one.

DAY 109 HOMEWORK: What is it that you want to be? How do you want to act, or be, or live? First, you have to declare it, and then you have to start. Somewhere. Anywhere. But do it. And do it again, and again, and again, until you get it like you want it.

Leave a Reply

