Day 113: Checking on the battery

I love Saturdays! I wish the week would have a few more of them. Really, it’s my only day to get stuff done at home, and even though I didn’t get everything done today that I wanted, it was a terrific Saturday.

My sister has been following a blog called FlyLady.net. I’ve not yet followed the FlyLady, but from what my sister says, she’s got a lot of ideas for simplifying your life. She has a method for cleaning and organizing your house, and making things easier for yourself. Somewhere in the midst of learning about FlyLady, my sister also found Marie Kondo’s Art of Tidying Up book and shared some of her ideas.

While I’m not a keeper of stuff, I have way too much of it. It’s amazing how easy it is to collect much more than you’ll ever need! So I’ve been itching to declutter a bit. I did get to do some of that today. My daughter-in-love and I explored a couple of stores in town that she had never been to. We did some grocery shopping, and got quite a few things crossed off the to-do list.

Maybe what made it so nice today is that we got to take care of ourselves and things that just needed to be done. And, I got a great note about the progress of my friend who had surgery yesterday (see Day 112).

Yes, it’s important to invest in and connect with others, but it’s also important to invest in and connect with ourselves. In order to plug into others, you have to have your own battery charged.

DAY 113 HOMEWORK: How is your battery feeling? A little low? Invest in yourself. Fully charged? Then get to work on investing in others.

Leave a Reply

