Day 126: Good wins in the end

Tonight, we watched Disney’s latest version of Cinderella (2015). I admit I’m a fairy tale girl. I love happy endings and things that make me think and cry and feel the emotion of others. Cinderella has always been one of my favorite fairy tales, but this version was done especially well, with interactive animals and such a lovely message that goes along perfectly with my blog. The girl who played Cinderella and one of the step sisters are on Downton Abbey, so that also drew me in from the beginning. And who can resist a clean PG movie in 2016?

One of the things I most enjoyed about this version is that the movie stayed true to the fairy tale. So many fairy tale re-makes today go off on weird tangents that are usually more for the thrill than the re-telling of a tale. Truth was refreshing.

I also enjoyed the Disney quality that went into the production. The scenery was breathtaking; the set was magical; and it was easy to get immersed in the characters.

What I loved best was the message as it was conveyed throughout the film: have courage and be kind. Kindness goes a long way and is sorely missing in much of today’s busy, crazy world. And, at the end of a crazy, crazy week, I needed to hear that simple but critical message. It makes me sigh heavy breaths of air, releasing a bunch of stress and negativity that seeped in throughout my day.

Finally, the director added a fantastic line towards the end. As Cinderella is coming down the stairs to try on the slipper, she feels that imperfection that all of us feel and berates herself as not worthy. The narrator says, as she walks past a mirror, that she is about to take “The greatest risk any of us may ever take, to be seen as we truly are.” That’s a message that so many need to hear today. Being loved for who we are, not who we pretend to be or who others think we should be. I loved the reminder of what I’ve been learning the past few years.

I haven’t even mentioned the forgiveness theme which could be a blog in itself, but I need to stop here for tonight. Well done, Disney. I thought you hit that one out of the ball park.

DAY 126 HOMEWORK: Rent the movie if you’ve not watched it. It’s a good message, in and of itself, and it’s a worthy reminder.

Leave a Reply

