Day 131: Different is good

Our church has been focusing on prayer since the beginning of the year. Tonight, we had a Prayer Gathering, and it was really cool. We were guided in topics to pray about, and prayed about them by ourselves and with others around us. I met 3 new people, who were in my group, and I couldn’t help thinking about the little Sunday School song we sang as children: Red and yellow, black and white, they are precious in His sight, Jesus loves the little children of the world. That literally described my group, and it reinforced one of the reasons I love belonging to such a culturally-diverse church.

One of the things I look for in my kindreds is diversity; I love learning from people of other cultures. This trend has been in my life since I was a little girl. One of my first friends was from another country, and I’ve been drawn to other cultures ever since. I married a Brazilian; I taught ESL to awesome students from all over the world; I lived abroad for a few years. These experiences taught me so much about myself and about life; I’m a much better person because I have been enriched by people from across the globe.

Learning about other cultures can open your mind to new ideas, and broaden your views about many aspects of life. These types of kindreds allow you to gain new perspectives, ways to improve your ideas or where those ideas are already successful.

DAY 131 HOMEWORK: If you don’t have a diverse set of kindreds, see what you can do to broaden your exposure to those who are different from you. What groups can you join that may allow you to strike up a new friendship with someone from another culture? Or invite a nearby international university student over for a Sunday lunch. You’ll learn a great deal!

Leave a Reply

