Day 148: Unburying the treasure

Risk-taking is becoming second nature, at least as far as showing my imperfection is concerned. It’s quite freeing. I’m working on an edition of our church’s adult ministries magazine, and I’ve decided to put an article in there from me, talking about connecting. It’s Day 141, rewritten for this different audience. The article fits logically, because we’re big on building connections with others. But it’s different blogging for a dozen or so people, than baring your soul to a couple thousand people showing a real person behind the shallow smile.

Yet, I’m taking this risk. I think people in our church need to know that it’s hard to get connected, especially in a large church. And it’s ok to admit it. It’s so much easier to slip in and out of a Sunday morning service and never connect. I’ve done it for years. I’m not really sorry about that, because I needed some time to heal and grow. But, if anybody truly wants to grow spiritually, people eventually need to be in community. My days of slipping in and out are coming to an end.

Today, a friend posted a quote from Kristin Hannah from WomenWorking.com:

Finding your passion isn’t just about careers and money. It’s about finding your authentic self. The one you’ve buried beneath other people’s needs.

While this comment is focused on working, it fits so well with Finding Kindreds. I’ve buried my authentic self beneath other people’s needs for so long that it took me about 7 or 8 years to start seeing me again. I’m starting to find my passions again, despite this amazing career journey I’ve been on. My authentic self is starting to shine out from underneath the tarnish. And it’s beautiful. I’m really looking forward to seeing the whole treasure unfold as I keep uncovering more and more of what’s been buried. What a wonderful, risk-filled journey!

DAY 148 HOMEWORK: How’s your journey going? Are you connecting? Are you in community? Is your authentic self shining through yet? Keep plugging away. The journey is worth it.

Leave a Reply

