Day 153: The project under the fires

It’s spring break time, and people are on the move. My parents are on their way to my sister’s tomorrow, people at work are taking vacations, and my niece is coming to visit in a couple of weeks. I’m taking a few days off work next week so that I can get some much needed rest and Dad time. I’m giddy with joy.

Taking time off, though, means working extra hard to get my work done before I take time off. We were joking today about the burdens that hang over your head, those projects you can’t ever seem to get to but are so critical. I’ve got one such project that is really important, but it keeps getting put on the back burner. I hope, though, that I can get it off my to-do list tomorrow. I say that every day. It sits on my desk, and when other fires come pouring in, I put them out, and this project continues to sit.

That’s sort of like this kindred movement I’m trying to start. We talk a bunch about breaking out of our comfortable places. We have really good intentions. But one day comes and goes. And the next. And the next. And pretty soon, our good intentions end up getting buried by the other busy-ness that comes into our lives. If we’re really going to get intentional about building community and finding our kindreds, we’ve got to take the project off the desk and just get it done. We have to put it at the top of our priority list, and let nothing deter us. I know what I’m talking about, and I know that I fail…often.

It’s going to take a single-mindedness to get me through this project, and it’s going to take a single-mindedness for us to start connecting with others on a deeper level. But believe me, if you just start, even if it’s a little bit, that momentum builds and it gets easier. I know it has been for me. I talked with someone I kind of know at the grocery store tonight. I’m going to a ministry event on Saturday early evening. I’m changing, and so it gives me hope that I’m going to tackle this project tomorrow, and cross it off my list. I’ll let you know how it goes.

DAY 153 HOMEWORK: Got a burden hanging over your head that you want to get done and cross off your list? Put it on the top of your priority list the next few days, and as Nike says, just do it! You’re going to feel a sense of freedom, and maybe that will give you a bit of incentive to reach outside of yourself to connect a bit more.

Leave a Reply

