Day 173: Kilts and a breeze

Today was American Heart Association Walk at Work day, and it was also National Tartan Day. That made for some fun interactions.

Two guys in our IS group wore their kilts to work, so we took their photos to share with the company. I was looking for a Scottish quote to go along with their photo, and the one that I liked best (but didn’t use) was Kilt…that’s what happened to the last person who called it a skirt. We laughed over it, but felt it wasn’t a very HR-ish thing to say, so we found another quote with a ship reference that fit our barge company a little better.

Despite the cool spring weather, I decided to go for a walk at lunch. I have about a mile that I like to do on the greenway close to our office. Since it had just started to sprinkle, I couldn’t get anyone to go with me. I grabbed someone’s umbrella and went anyway. It was windy, but it really wasn’t too bad. I was thinking that it was too bad that no one wanted to risk the rain. On the way, I ran into one of the guys who had worn his kilt earlier in the day, and I joked with him about his kilt. He said he had to change because he couldn’t hold the umbrella and hold on to his skirt at the same time.

I laughed as I walked on by, and then I smirked to myself, he should have been kilt.

DAY 173 HOMEWORK: Don’t let a little rain and a few party-poopers keep you from doing what’s on your heart. Keep acting on these new connecting principles and your search for kindreds, and you’ll get the right people to come along in time.

Leave a Reply

