Day 181: Wearing confidence

I had a dream last night that put me in a situation I’ve never been in before. It gave me hope that I really am making progress on this journey.

A friend from my college days was getting ready to retire. Her retirement party was being held at a symphony performance. I thought, what a cool idea, but also was a bit jealous that she was able to retire already. After all, we’re both more than a decade away from even thinking about it.

Her sister and husband were there, and a few other people that I knew from various places and stages of my life. But at one point, a guy got up to give a speech. The speech wasn’t about her retirement, so maybe he was some sort of entertainment for the evening. He was really interesting, but got in the middle of his speech, and he couldn’t remember what it was that he was talking about.

So I jumped up in front of that large group, and finished his speech to a standing ovation. I was the orator that I always dreamed of being: fluid, and confident, and engaging each person in the audience in spellbound rhapsody. I don’t know what the topic was, but it didn’t matter. I knew it inside and out and could have talked about it for hours, and when I was finished, I remember feeling such joy and confidence…just before having to crawl around on the floor looking for some child who had escaped her parents’ watchful eye through rows of seats. Someone had called an Amber Alert right there in the room. The child was found in a row in the balcony, and the spell was broken, but I wandered off in my dreams with such contentment at being so confident.

Dreams are usually a vivid mix of visuals of people and places, but I don’t ever recall feeling contentment and confidence in a dream before. I’ve felt sad, and happy, and even joy, but this was a new feeling, and it was enticing. I hope I dream it again tonight, or some variation thereof.

Confidence is becoming, and I liked wearing it.

DAY 181 HOMEWORK: Let’s do a little checkup. How are you doing on your journey? Are you seeing ways that your desired changes are popping up in your life, in your work, in your dreams. Keep pressing on. A little at a time, consistently, makes a difference.

 

 

Leave a Reply

