Day 201: The Force is with you

Evidently, today is Star Wars Day. I’m not sure who named the day, but my son is enamored with Star Wars, and he and his wife have been watching them in order. And, so tonight, we sit watching weird space characters telling a story of good and evil.

I’m not that big of a Star Wars fan, not even being sure I’ve watched the original movie all the way through, but sometimes, we give up our desires in favor of the excitement of others. It’s only right. I’ll admit that I would have rather watched Property Brothers tonight, but then others would be giving up their desires for my excitement. So I try not to subject others to my design show obsession often. 🙂

Anyway, as we sit listening to this story, I wonder about the costumers who came up with one uglier alien costume than another. And the alien voices can be really irritating. But there are interesting bits of wisdom sprinkled throughout the silliness.

Yoda said to little Anakin at one point, “Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.” I haven’t seen the other movies, so I don’t know what fear eventually led Anakin to the dark side, but it made me sad, and it also it reminded me of Romans 5:3-5 which is the antithesis:

…we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

Fear, anger, hate and suffering vs. suffering, endurance, character, hope and love. I choose the light side. How about you?

DAY 201 HOMEWORK: I challenge you to give up your desires in favor of someone else’s excitement. You may just discover something in the process.

Leave a Reply

