Day 204: Brimming over from the beautiful day

It was a full day, and I enjoyed it immensely. I got up rather early to go to the Advance Lab at the Worship Society. I’ve talked about Worship Society before, but for those of you who are new, it’s the group at my church who volunteer (and the staff members) who are doing all the activities in the church that touch “worship.” My group is the Communications group, specifically Events. Advance Lab happens every other month and it’s a time for each group to learn something to advance their skills in their particular area of service.

Since it was Mother’s Day weekend, lots of people couldn’t make it. It was the Leader, two programmers and me. The programmers are working on the website and app, so anything we would learn collectively couldn’t really apply to everyone. Instead, we talked about how we could collaborate, and maybe think of new ways to tell people about the things that are going on. It was good to talk with the other volunteers about what they would like to see happen.

Following that meeting, I ran some errands, and then I chatted for a little while with my mother-in-law to wish her a Happy Mother’s Day. I tried to take a little nap, but my mind was turning around on some projects I wanted to get done. So I measured my pantry, and ran to the home store to pick up some shelving for my kitchen.

We were thinking to pull our whole pantry apart but that would have required some drywall and I wasn’t really in the mood for that today, so I found a work-around in order to keep the current structure as is.

I built some wire shelves and put 2 of them together. I also bought some caster wheels to go on the shelving unit. Strangely, the caster wheels they had for sale amongst the shelves did not fit. So now I have a disorganized kitchen because the pantry items are all over the place, and no way to finish the project.

About this time, everyone was getting home for work, so we all decided to take a few things back to the home store, and go out to eat.

We got our money back at the store, and were looking for smaller casters, but they didn’t have any that would work. I also wanted to replace the door knob with a dummy knob, but they didn’t have a dummy knob that would work with a door that already had a hole in it. It was a strike out. Pizza was calling.

We ate and laughed, and had an enjoyable evening together, and as a bonus, the kids picked up the tab for Mother’s Day! When we got home, we put away the pantry stuff, knowing we’ll have to un-do it all when we find the right wheels, but everything is in it’s place for the start of the morrow. Now that’s a good day!

DAY 204 HOMEWORK: Since it’s Mother’s Day weekend, don’t forget to love on your mother, if you still have one, and if you don’t, remember the good things about your mom. Then, go love on some other mothers. Some may be having a particularly hard day, so hug those ones especially tight.

Leave a Reply

