Day 217: Everything else kales in comparison

Kale salad. It doesn’t sound like anything to do with Finding Kindreds. Oh, but it does.

A few weeks ago, we celebrated a coworker’s 20-year anniversary at work. Actually, we celebrated in a restaurant…but she worked for our company for 20 years. I may have blogged about the evening, but as a refresher, we went to a fancy steak place in Nashville, and everything we ate was delicious. And we ate a ton. And laughed even more. It was a glorious time celebrating her.

Nashville is a foodie town. One restaurant is better than the next, somewhat like our musicians. At this particular restaurant, they have kale salad that is to die for. I could have just eaten that salad and been happy. Of course, I didn’t, and was happy anyway.

For days after this party, I kept thinking about that kale salad. So I finally pulled out the best friend, Google, to ask if there was a recipe. I found someone who tried to recreate it, and who had shared their attempt. So, today I got the ingredients and tried it.

Now, I have a kale salad that is to die for. We ate it for supper and enjoyed conversation over our steak and kale salad, and it made for a fulfilling evening. Here’s the recipe:

Yummy Kale Sala

  • Chop up kale in a food processor (you need about 4 cups)
  • Add olive oil (about a 1/4 cup) and salt to taste.
  • Zest a lemon and add it. Juice the lemon into the kale.
  • Sprinkle in parmesan. Add raisins and pine nuts. Stir & serve.

It’s that easy. The restaurant used currents instead of raisins, but I couldn’t find any so I used 2 different types of raisins. You could probably add your own flavors…and different types of nuts, but at any rate, it’s healthy and truly yummy. I can’t wait to eat more.

DAY 217 HOMEWORK: Try this salad. You won’t be sorry. I’m full and my mouth is still watering for it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

