Day 229: No lunks

My daughter-in-love and I joined a gym tonight. We’ve been wanting to work on our fitness, and be less sedentary, so we decided we’d go look at Planet Fitness. I’ve never been terribly athletic (or more literally, I am terribly athletic), so working out at a gym has never really appealed to me. But, I need to get my heart rate going, so if I’ve got to get fit, I thought I’d try the place that says they have no lunks…those really athletic people who make you feel inadequate.

When we pulled into the parking lot, I was a bit excited. I’ve not felt that lift since I joined Toastmasters that first day. I was a bit nervous, since I didn’t know what I was doing, but like Toastmasters, everyone made us feel comfortable…not judged at all. We got to try stuff out, and spent an hour or so going around to various stations, and I, for one, was trying to look casual. My daughter-in-love already knew how to work most of the machines, so she’s obviously going to get drafted to be my trainer. 🙂

After a while, my legs felt like wet spaghetti, but I had a rush of energy, so I figured, “Why not?” I tend to be more committed to things if I’m obligated, and a small monthly fee should compel me to get out and do something that will bring back that sense of euphoria a few times a week. So I’ve got nothing to lose, except for some middle-aged flabbiness…in fact, my company reimburses wellness activities. And what will I gain? I’m hoping to become more toned, to meet some new people in our town, and to put more time and energy into my wellness, and less into technology that robs my time from me. I’ll keep you posted, and you keep me grounded so I don’t become a lunk.

DAY 229 HOMEWORK: Get up off your backside and do something you’ve been thinking about doing for a long time. I talked about 2 things I did outside of my comfort zone: Toastmasters, and now a gym. Getting past the fear of stepping outside the comfort zone is all it takes…so just go do it!

 

Leave a Reply

