Day 239: Roots

I have learned that I am resilient. Most days, I’m very strong, but other days, I struggle with my emotions and wonder where that resiliency is. I’ve learned that it’s OK, both to be strong and to be weak. We are ALL broken; we just need to admit that and let others help us up when we can’t get up by ourselves.

My faith has made me resilient. I know that I know that I know that God has a plan for me, and if he’s allowing me to walk through something, then He already knows what’s going on. He knows what lies ahead. He knows the ending. And if he knows, then I’m going to be all right. One way, or another. It’s a good thing I don’t know the ending. I might not like it. But He doesn’t tell me; He just allows me to walk on and lean on Him. I am resilient because He has my back. And He has my future.

I don’t particularly like those days when I feel weak. I’d rather be all sunshine and roses, but they say a tree grows stronger roots on the days that there are storms because it needs to hang on tighter. So that’s what I try to do. Hold on tighter. Some days, that’s all I can do. When you see me, you might see sunshine and roses, and you might not realize that I’m digging my roots down deeper to just hold on. It’s that digging down that makes us resilient. We may be blown by the wind, but not knocked down.

My delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law I meditate both day and night. I am like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in season, and its leaf does not wither. I will prosper [Psalm 1:2-3, my paraphrase], in His time.

For now, thanks to those who have helped me up when I can’t get up by myself. I love you!

DAY 239 HOMEWORK: This one can go two ways: if you are down, let someone help you up. It’s OK to admit you’re broken; simply know that everyone around you is also broken. If you are up, then reach out and help someone else up, along the way. By pouring your life into others, we’ll all make this journey together, moment by moment.

 

Leave a Reply

