Day 244: Did I sing that?

For those of us who listen to Christian music, I had an epiphany today (no pun intended). Many times we listen carelessly to songs. We may love the beat, or the lyrics happen to be our “favorites” so we shout them out at the tops of our lungs. Maybe it’s a phrase we hear that speaks to a particular season of life we’re in, or maybe the soothing sound of a song can grant us peace for a few moments. But are we really listening to the words?

Of course, this is true of all genres of music, but my epiphany today was that many Christian songs are affirmations of our faith, and/or prayers that we’ve put out towards heaven in the form of a psalm. That can be very dangerous, if we’re not careful, because we may be praying for something we’re not quite ready to handle.

Today, I was singing a song that I’ve sung along with a hundred times. It was Keep Making Me, by Sidewalk Prophets. I stopped short on the first phrase, and realized that the number of times I had sung this song, I’m not sure I was ready for God to answer. But He has been answering it for about as long as Jacob worked for his wife, or half the time that Joseph spent, falsely accused, in prison. Maybe even longer. I stopped and listened to what I had been “praying” for.

Keep Making Me: Sidewalk Prophets

Make me broken
So I can be healed
‘Cause I’m so calloused
And now I can’t feel
I want to run to You
With heart wide open
Make me broken

Make me empty
So I can be filled
‘Cause I’m still holding
Onto my will
And I’m completed
When you are with me
Make me empty

‘Til You are my one desire
‘Til You are my one true love
‘Til You are my breath, my everything
Lord, please keep making me

Make me lonely
So I can be Yours
‘Til I want no one
More than You, Lord
‘Cause in the darkness
I know You will hold me
Make me lonely

‘Til You are my one desire
‘Til You are my one true love
‘Til You are my breath, my everything
Lord, please keep making,
I know You’ll keep making
Lord, please keep making me

#SidewalkProphets #KeepMakingMe

Ouch! I had asked for that. Over and over. Broken, Empty, Lonely. My one desire. My one true love. My breath. My everything. And it to:k a long time for God to get through to me.

He is making me, shaping my clay into a pot of His design. I can’t say that I have loved everything about the road I’ve been on for quite some time. Maybe I’ve loved little about it. I’ve been discouraged. I’ve been depressed. I’ve been lonely. I’ve been broken. And he’s kept on breaking me because I didn’t ever seem to get it. I’m starting to see it now.

I know that God answers prayer. And so we have to be careful what we ask for…especially when it has a great melody.

DAY 244 HOMEWORK: Stop and pay attention to the lyrics you’re singing. Are you getting what you’re “asking” for? Watch out! It may make your journey more difficult than you were wanting. But if you hang on tight and let Him work, God will make you the way He has intended. His plans are best.

Leave a Reply

