Day 248: Better late than never

I did not want to go to the gym tonight. I was crabby today, and really would have rather had pancakes and watch a chick flick. But we hadn’t exercised in quite a few days, due to our schedules, and my daughter-in-love said she really wanted to go.

So she got changed into her workout clothes, and I sat on the couch. She asked if I was going to go, and I told her yes. But then I sat there a bit more. Finally, I gathered some courage and got up to change.

My son was going to go along, too, so it took us a bit to get out the door, but by 9, we were at the gym. It was good timing; most normal people were at home eating ice cream and getting ready for bed.

I headed for my favorite machines since they were empty…stretching, abs, recumbent bike…and then I got a few coins for the massage chair.

It was only about 40 minutes, but I did feel better for the first time all day. It was fun to motivate each other, and whatever chemicals were released in the body, they were happy ones. We all felt better for going.

It may also be why I’m still up at almost 11. My eyes are sleepy, but I do have a bit of energy. Maybe tomorrow, we’ll get out the door a bit earlier. Or maybe we’ll have ice cream…

DAY 248 HOMEWORK: Sometimes it’s tough to do what you know you need to do, but don’t want to do. Whatever that is for you today, just do it. Push yourself beyond what you think you can do, or get a friend to help motivate you. Once you start, you’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

