Day 264: A beak full

The other day, I sat for a while and watched a sparrow as it picked at the delicacies coming up from the cracks in my sidewalk. The tiny, little thing hopped from weed to weed and found tasty morsels to add to the growing storehouse in its beak. As I watched, I thought about those verses in the Bible that talk about two sparrows being sold for a penny. I’ve always heard the reference to sparrows as being so common that they really aren’t worth much. But as I sat and watched it, it was beautiful in its muted colors. Perfectly made. Wondrously made. It serves a purpose in the circle of life. (Cue the music, Rafiki!)

The sparrow reference is from Luke 10:29-31. Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows. 

So Jesus tells us not to be afraid, because if God knows when a sparrow falls, and how many hairs we have left on our scalps, he will surely take care of our needs. Those verses swam in my head and then led me to a parallel passage in Matthew 6:26-27. Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?

We spend so much time worrying about stuff. How we’re going to pay our bills. How we’re going make it at our jobs. How we’re going to make it through the next week. In reality, if we’d stop obsessing over things and just have faith, God provides. I have never not been taken care of. Ever! It seemed like it sometimes, but at the last minute, what I needed was provided. Sometimes down to the penny. I’m not saying God is a genie in a bottle. I’m just saying he cares about the details. He cares about the so-called insignificant things. He cares about you!

DAY 264 HOMEWORK: What are you obsessing over? Let it go and trust. You are more important than that beautiful little bird hopping in my backyard, and he had a beak full.

Leave a Reply

