Day 265: A story I didn’t want to hear

I hate that saying that says “Hindsight is 20/20.” Well, hate is strong word. What I think I really dislike is that it applies to me too often. I’m a pretty insightful person, with others, but when I look at me, the insight often flies right out of the window.

Hindsight came flying at me today. I saw some of those throw-back photos, and what I saw in every one of them was pretty jarring. It was something that I should have noticed all along, and maybe I did, but I didn’t want to see it. I wanted to give grace rather than face it. I wanted to excuse it rather than accept it. And today, those photos screamed at me.

It was the slow death of a relationship. Plain as day right in front of me. The expressions, the body language, the lack of proximity…it all tells a story, and it was a story I didn’t want to hear. But now, that hindsight makes me sad. I’m sad because we didn’t do anything to work on it earlier. I’m sad because I thought it would right itself in time. When we weren’t so tired. When we had time to talk things through.

But it will be ok. Foresight. Looking forward; walking moment by moment. I talk to God about it, and lean on others to lend a listening ear.

Sure, it’s fun to look back at those throw-back photos, but you never really know what you’re going to see or what others will see in them. What is a great memory to you may be a painful memory to someone else. It’s just something to think about when you’re throwing them out there.

DAY 265 HOMEWORK: Is there something you should be noticing? Take some time to practice “hindsight” while it’s still today. Then look forward.

 

Leave a Reply

