Day 269: Pink tools

Today was fun. My dad came home from the family reunion to be with me and my sister for a few days. He’s helping me with a project and so we went to the home store to pick up supplies. He helped me get some tools (I did ask if they had pink power tools…maybe someone should work on that idea). Then he taught me how to use them, and we worked a good portion of the afternoon and evening on a project that I’ve been wanting to do for quite some time.

We have a door from the bedroom on to our back porch that has only been opened twice in the 13 years we’ve lived in the house. I’ve really wanted to close it up and make that porch into a breakfast nook sunroom. By closing the door, it will give some wall space that is lacking in the open characteristics of this Craftsman-style home. It sounds counter-intuitive to close off an open-space feature, but having wall space in both the bedroom and the breakfast nook will make both spaces more functional, and more cozy.

So today, we took out the door frame and took off the trim. We bought most of the materials to get the hole closed up, but then it started raining and so we didn’t get the drywall. It would have been soaking wet by the time we got home.

There’s a few things left to do tomorrow. I wish I could be home from work one more day to work with him, but I can’t; I’m quite sure he’ll have it all closed up by the time I get here. Nevertheless, I smile for the quality time that we had today, for a dad who loves me, and who shows me in the ways that he does. I am blessed.

DAY 269 HOMEWORK: Doing projects is my love language and so my cup is overflowing today. If you don’t know your love language, you might check out Gary Smalley’s book on the 5 Love Language. It’s worth knowing what makes your heart smile.

Leave a Reply

