Day 281: Teeter-Totter

Who doesn’t love Saturdays? I sure do. Today was particularly great. I stayed in my pajamas until about 2 in the afternoon, and after my daughter-in-love and my niece went to work around 1, I did a very thorough cleaning of my bathroom. That might not sound like the kind of thing you want to do on a Saturday afternoon, but for me, it was heavenly!

I used to keep my house cleaned quite well. It was one of those pleasures in life. But, to be truthful, the past 4 or 5 years, I have stopped my perfectionistic cleaning sprees. I just don’t have it in me anymore. Too busy at work, plus normal stuff to do when I get home, and cleaning is the last thing I want to do. I have done well to maintain the house pretty well, but it’s not anywhere like it used to be. (Kudos to me for letting go!)

That’s why a couple of hours in my bathroom, cleaning nooks and crannies that haven’t seen a scrubbing brush in a while, felt amazing. It now sparkles, at least for a little while, and my feet glide on the floor without picking up stuff on them. When I walked in there a bit ago, the fresh scent of clean greeted me, and it made me feel like I had accomplished something today, even if I was still in my jammies.

Of course, I did finally get showered and dressed, and I went out to pamper myself a bit. I put a stamp of approval on today, and feel satisfied. It wasn’t a community kind of day, but I was engaged with people for the time that I was with them. Besides, Finding Kindreds isn’t about filling every moment with people. You need self-reflection and alone time, just like you need others. Both sides need to be priorities in order to be balanced. And I was very happy to have had some of the quiet time on this beautiful Saturday, in order to teeter a bit on the “me” side.

DAY 281 HOMEWORK: Which side of the balance do you need to work on? Are you so busy with others that you don’t have time to be reflective, or do you have so much quiet time that you don’t spend time with people? Work on your greater need.

Leave a Reply

