Day 287: You might like it.

We had a mid-morning meeting at work today, and we sometimes bring food because one of the ladies gets pretty hungry close to lunch time. She was joking today that she only had pretzel nubs and some dust in her office, so I walked over to the grocery store to pick up a few things since I didn’t have any ideas for lunch either. I picked up some chicken tenders, and then got a variety hoping we’d have enough for everyone. Something salty (pretzel rods), something healthy (grapes), and something sweet (2 pastries from the bakery), and then I picked up a bottle of kombucha. I had no idea what kombucha was, but someone posted on Facebook the other day that they were going to make some home-brewed kombucha, so when I saw it, I thought I’d try it.

I got back to my office and downed the chicken tenders so I wouldn’t feel so guilty eating the other stuff. Then, I popped open the kombucha. Ew! It smelled a bit like apple cider vinegar. It was fizzy and said “tea,” and also said “Strawberry Serenity.” How bad can it be? I decided I would try it. It didn’t taste as bad as it smelled, but I could tell I’d have to acquire a taste for it. I ended up drinking about half of it.

I took the treats to the meeting, and we had a fun time, even while conducting business.

Fast forward to tonight. After supper, my belly started cramping, so I figured I’d better do a bit of research on kombucha so I knew what I had consumed. I found out that kombucha is made of tea and it’s known to be a health elixir. It cleanses the liver, it’s good for arthritis, and it’s a great probiotic with healthy bacteria to help clean you out. No wonder my belly started cramping! But as we researched kombucha tonight, I decided I do want to try to make my own, and I’d like to try to get accustomed to it. We’ll see how it goes

Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

DAY 287 HOMEWORK: Do something unexpected. Be adventurous and step outside of your comfort zone. Even it it’s buying something at the grocery store you’ve never bought before. The thing is: if you buy it, you’ve got to go home and try to make it. No fair letting it sit on your shelf for a year or two! 🙂

Leave a Reply

