Day 288: Unending projects ending

Just a few precious hours until my father flies back to Florida, and we have been enjoying every minute we can get. I know he’s ready to go home, but I have surely loved the time he’s been around. Every time I get to see him is good, but I don’t remember a time as sweet as this visit. He came up in early July for a family reunion of sorts at my brother’s farm in MO, and the came back to Tennessee with my sister and me. The past 2 weeks, he’s been at my sister’s, helping them with their reno.

Today, after we got up and got moving, we discussed what we wanted to do. He’s been helping me do some projects that have been on my to-do list for a while, and I really thought it would be best to finish up a project we started earlier this summer. I felt pretty sure we could get it mostly done.

We had worked on the pantry when he was here a couple of weeks ago, and it still wasn’t quite right. I wanted to be able to see at a glance what was in the pantry, because it’s so easy for things to get shoved to the back of the shelf and then you forget you have them. And there was awkward space in the way it was originally designed. Earlier this summer, we built a cart on wheels that we could pull out of the pantry. There were still some things that we not quite organized well, and some stuff kept falling off the cart. So our brainstorm this morning took me back to a kitchen “cabinet” my dad made for my sister when she was little, and we all played with it as we grew. As we discussed it, dad remembered a shelf he made for one of the houses we lived in, and we knew we had found our solution.

So we drew up some plans and then went over to the home improvement store. We bought a few things we needed and some boards. Over the next 4-5 hours, we built shelving units that fit in tight against the walls, that will house cans and other things that are small and relatively heavy. It was empty space anyway, so with a few boards, we were able to orchestrate just what I had been hoping for.

We finished up our project just a few minutes before I needed to pick up my niece from work, and then we headed over to my sister’s for some dessert. We all looked tired, but we laughed together, and chatted over nothing, and everything. Actually, I AM tired. But it’s a good tired, a satisfied tired. I know I’ll drift off to sleep tonight with a smile on my face from the time we’ve invested in each other.

DAY 288 HOMEWORK: Maybe my lesson for today (besides the obvious of enjoying every minute you’ve got) is to take your projects and break them into bite size activities that you can get done in a short timeframe. And, of course, it’s always better when you’ve got a kindred you can invite along to help!

Leave a Reply

