Day 308: Leave it behind

My sister recently shared a music video on my timeline, and I’ve listened to it quite a bit. The group is Birdtalker, probably not a band my sister would automatically listen to on her own, except she knows the girl in the video is the daughter of friends from her church. I’m not sure I got all the lyrics down, but I tried to transcribe what I heard as I listened to it over and over again.

The words are profound and goes along with this blog quite brilliantly. So many concepts we could talk about…lonely together, take a trip to your dark side, leave what’s heavy behind…all of these things I’ve tried to pen this past year, and this group has eloquently put to catchy alternative music. It seems so easy!

The message speaks to me on many levels. It makes me grateful for what I have and so incredibly joyful that there is redemption available so we can leave what’s heavy behind. Take a few minutes to listen in. If you need lyrics, I’ve added them below. (Feel free to correct any words you hear differently than I did. ūüôā

Heavy by Birdtalker

If you’re lost and you’re lonely, go and figure out why. Take a trip¬†to your dark side, go on¬†and have a good cry, cause we’re all lonely, we’re all lonely, together.
I want to see your sadness, I want to share your sin, I want to bleed your blood, and I want to be let in, don’t you trust, don’t we all just want to be together.

Leave¬†what’s heavy, what’s heavy behind. Leave what’s heavy, what’s heavy behind.

If your face is down, take a look around, do your fingers move, do your lungs inflate, are you tired, are you weary of the hidden hate you’ve been holding.
Did you lose that love, or have¬†you never had it, are you feeling sad cause you did a bad thing…

Leave¬†what’s heavy, what’s heavy behind. Leave what’s heavy, what’s heavy behind.

Are you feeling fearful brother, are you feeling fearful sister,
the only way to lose that fearful feeling, replace it with love that’s healing.
Are you feeling fearful brother, are you feeling fearful sister,

Leave¬†what’s heavy, what’s heavy behind. Leave what’s heavy, what’s heavy behind.
Leave¬†what’s heavy, what’s heavy behind. Leave what’s heavy, what’s heavy behind.

 

DAY 308 HOMEWORK: Maybe you need to spend a little time dwelling on these words. Listen to the video again, and just pick one thing that spoke to you, to work on in your life.

Leave a Reply

