Day 312: Right where I belong

Music speaks to me in ways that many things cannot. I often get lost in a lyric or a melody might repeat over and over again in my mind until I find myself before the throne of God. It can be a music with deliberately Christian lyrics or a symphony of intricate harmonies, or it can be the beautiful trills of the birds outside my window on a cozy Saturday morning. I find wonder in most any acapella group, or the beats of various drums. It simply speaks to me, and I connect with music in inexplicable ways.

I came across the following song last week on Facebook. I don’t remember who shared it originally, and I didn’t know the artist, but he’s very talented, so I listened in.

What I liked so much about this one is that it explains what happens when you connect with the Church. Not just a church, but The Church, the body of believers who truly understand what God did when he sacrificed his Son for us. It’s a place where you can connect with others, if for no other reason than we’re all there to worship our God.

I’ve often felt a strong connection when I’ve met someone whose heart is obviously tied to  God through faith in Jesus. I’ve seen it happen in other countries. I’ve seen it happen with those who didn’t speak my language. It didn’t matter because our hearts were connected.

I’ve transcribed the lyrics for this song as best as I could. Let me know if I got any of the lyrics wrong. Take a few minutes to listen and let the words sink in.

I believe that I belong in a story not my own, from let there be to kingdom come, this is right where I belong

Where no stranger can be found and songs of saving grace abound, I’m reminded at the sound, this is right where I belong

Singing glory, glory to the Son, singing glory, glory to the Father, and the Holy Spirit three in One, this is right where I belong

I believe I belong to the Body of the Son, where all we saints can sing as one, this is right where we belong

Singing glory, glory to the Son, singing glory, glory to the Father, and the Holy Spirit three in One, this is right where I belong

When I stand before the throne and heaven and earth will be as one, I will sing kingdom come, this is right where we belong.

Singing glory, glory to the Son, singing glory, glory to the Father, and the Holy Spirit three in One, this is right where we belong, this is right where we belong, this is right where I belong.

DAY 312 HOMEWORK: If you have time, listen through a couple of Todd’s other songs. He’s got a few good ones and see if any resonate with you.

Leave a Reply

