Day 320: Just begun is half done

I’ve been putting off a project at work for over two years, and I may have even blogged about it before. It’s one of my least favorite things to do, so I kept pushing it to the bottom of my to-do list. Tomorrow, the project is due, without fail, and so it’s been a bit of a stressful week. Oh, don’t think that I’ve put it off completely to finish up this week. I’ve been working on it for months, but it’s one of those projects that never ends. It’s back and forth with legal teams; it’s internal debates between departments; it’s revisions and more revisions, and then more and more approvals to gain.

I’m talking about totally revamping a 150-page policy manual.

Yuck!

I don’t like policy in the first place. I’ve always colored outside the lines and think that every black and white has gray mixed in. So to trudge through the legalese of this manual was tough.

I don’t like formal language. I’ve rewritten the policy manual in every day language, but to do that, I had to trudge through a bunch of legal blah-blah-blah.

I don’t like wordiness. We combined some redundant policies and cut some policies out altogether.  I got the 150 pages down to 102. Whew!

This week, I’ve been trying to finalize the formatting, but even that has been a trial. My version of Word has been terribly buggy, so when I got all the formatting of policy numbers complete, it changed some other formatting, like spacing, so when I went to fix the spacing, the policy numbering got damaged. I had to do them over and over several times.

When I left the office today, I felt I had the policy numbering in a solid pace. I saved the document, and closed out of it, just in case there was something in the cache that was messing up my changes. Tomorrow, when I go in, I’ll have to re-do the footers, and fix one final thing in the headers, and this document should be ready to post. This will be a sweet one to cross off my list because now that it’s been overhauled, I shouldn’t have to touch it again. The HR team can update any policies on a 1-by-1 basis over the next few years. And I happily turn this one over to them.

DAY 320 HOMEWORK: Do you have a project that has been hanging over your head for a while? Break out an hour or two, or even a few hours every day, to knock it out. You’ll feel much better when you’re done. I know I will be celebrating this time tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

