Day 340: Good enough, as is

No one seemed to notice it. I sat here tonight and realized I was only 16 days away from accomplishing the goal I set before myself this time last year: to blog every day for 1 whole year. 16 days! I’m a little overwhelmed at the thought of it.

And as I sat looking, I noticed that last night, my title was Day 239. What? Wait! Surely there are more days in a year than 256. Oh, course! It should be 356! I had to go back and see if I had exchanged the 300 numbers for 200-something in all of my posts lately. Nope. Just last night. Well, that was less bad.

So then, I got thinking: Of my 8 readers, no one called it out. Not even my sister (who probably noticed, but just didn’t comment). No one said, “Hey, I think you’re off your rocker! You were in the 300s.” If no one noticed, then why have I been so uptight all these years about being so perfect? Sure, I like things to be right, but there is only a small percentage of people who are as uptight about errors as I was. I still prefer not to make errors, but is it the end of the world if I do? If someone sees an error in my work, does that make me less of who I am? No, and I think that’s the best testament that this blogging journey has been cathartic. I’ve let go of the facade. I have learned to breathe free. I am coming to the end of this goal, and am pleased that I am good enough, as is.

I seem to go on and on about this type of a thing, but this is a big deal. It’s like beating an addiction, or reaching an impossible dream. There’s no way that, last September, I would have even dreamed I’d be where I am right now, able to say how I feel, and to be ok with it, and especially if were less than perfect. And though I’m not done with my goal, I want to take a minute to thank those who have encouraged me along the way.

DAY 340 HOMEWORK: I hope I’ve been a bit of an encouragement to you this past year, as you have been to me. It is possible to reach an impossible dream, but you’ve got to have a bit of stubborn persistence. Have you thought about what you might do next? Take a bite at a time, a little each day, and you’ll be in a different place this time next year. I promise it can be done!

Leave a Reply

