Day 342: What’s your dream?

I just got back from an amazing night of worship at #TheWorshipSociety at #LifePointChurch. The Worship Society is a group of people who serve in our church in various creative ways [for example, the team I’m a part of is the Communication group].

We were challenged to worship freely tonight, beyond our comfort zones, and it was much easier than I remembered. Don’t get me wrong; I love to worship, but I rarely let myself go  enough to fully enter in to God’s presence. I don’t know why! It’s a cool place to be.

Anyway, our Worship Pastor asked us what we were dreaming about. He jabbed at us a bit about all our selfish dreams [even good ones]. And then he challenged us to make sure whatever it is that we’re dreaming about, that it has Jesus and other people in it. It stirred something deep within me.

On the way home, I heard a song by Jeremy Camp that I hear often, but the words struck me in a different way. Think about these lyrics:

In this obsession with the things this world says make us happy
Can’t see the slaves we are in all the searching, all the grasping
Like we deserve much more than all these blessing we’re holding
So now I’m running free into an ocean of mercy unending

So come and empty me
So that it’s you I breathe
I want my life to be
Only Christ in me
So I will fix my eyes
‘Cause you’re my source of life
I need the world to see
That it’s Christ in me
That it’s Christ in me

Done with what holds me down the things I once was chasing after
Throw off these heavy chains that I have let become my master
So now I’m running free into an ocean of mercy unending

Wow! That’s the way God works. He pulls all the pieces together, and makes it make sense.   The dreams we chase after actually hold us back and become our masters. I want to keep running free into that ocean of mercy unending, don’t you?

DAY 342 HOMEWORK: Do you feel held down by the things in your life? Start dreaming dreams that have Jesus in them, and watch what He does. I’m ready! You?

Leave a Reply

