Day 358: Melting the plastic

Today, my daughter-in-love and I went to a conference at my sister’s church. It was a long day, and despite my long to-do list, I’m so glad I went. Lots of times when you go to church events, people only show their perfect sides.

  • “How are you?”
  • “I’m great! How are you doing?”
  • “Things couldn’t be better!”

There was none of that today. It was real. People, who had been in the church a long time, some of them grew up in church, shared their stories of struggles and imperfections, and yet told of finding God’s love despite the choices they’d made. It was so refreshing to be amidst people who didn’t have it all together. People who admitted their pain. Who weren’t afraid to break down in front of us all. And then to love them as they were was just an added blessing. No judgment. No casting stone-y stares.

There’s something about that kind of genuineness that is contagious. It takes out defenses and knocks down walls that we’ve built up in case we have to show our plastic sides. And that allowed God’s spirit to blow over the group in a fresh way.

I met a kindred today. She was one of the speakers and at a break time, I spoke with her for a few minutes. I asked her if she would be one of my first guests on my podcast that I’m going to start working on as soon as I hit my 1-year blog goal. She said that she had been talking to God about doing a show like that, but didn’t know how it would all come together. It was a God-thing. Who knows where it will lead, but it was stepping out on a tug at the heart, and God showing us both that we could do more together than if we were isolated.

I’m excited to see where it goes from here.

DAY 358 HOMEWORK: Is God telling you to do something? Step out on faith and watch what happens. We don’t have to know the big picture yet. Just take it a step at a time and that’s enough.

 

Leave a Reply

