Day 364: R&R

I’m bubbling with excitement; we’re on our way to a weekend getaway with the girls…some special people in my life. There’s nothing like going away, to where you can barely get a cell signal, to look at the beautiful fall colors and feel the crispness of the air, to be able to reflect, and rest, and giggle.

Even Jesus and his disciples took time to get away from the hustle and bustle. They were crowded in on every side by people, much like we often feel by being crowded in by projects, schedules, people, and more. Here’s an example of them getting away to rest [he, in this case, is Jesus]:

Mark 6:31 “Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”

It’s necessary to get away. I love that Jesus got away with others in community, but it was an intimate group, and they went to a quiet place for the purpose to rest. And rest included eating! How much better is that?

For me, I love the chance to get away and get into nature. It restores my soul, and I find myself overflowing with gratefulness at the intense beauty around me.

Look at this part in Job where it’s clear that nature always leads us back to God:

Job 12: 7-10 “But ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds in the sky, and they will tell you; 8 or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, or let the fish in the sea inform you. 9 Which of all these does not know that the hand of the LORD has done this? 10 In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind.

And that’s what I’m going to do this weekend: spend time in nature that will lead me to being closer to God. And spend time with kindreds to lead me to rest and relaxation.

DAY 364 HOMEWORK: Take some time to get some R&R this weekend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

